Home > News, Rugby League News > NRL Team Lists – Preliminary Finals

NRL Team Lists – Preliminary Finals

The Preliminary Finals are here this weekend! Only the Broncos, Sea Eagles, Warriors and Melbourne Storm remain in the competition. Whether you’re a fan of one of these sides, or just want to see all the ins and outs, head on in!


Manly Sea Eagles v Brisbane Broncos at Sydney Football Stadium, 7:45pm.

Sea Eagles: Brett Stewart, Michael Robertson, Jamie Lyon (c), Steve Matai, Will Hopoate, Kieran Foran, Daly Cherry-Evans, Joe Galuvao, Matt Ballin, Brent Kite, Anthony Watmough, Tony Williams, Shane Rodney. Interchange (from): Tim Robinson, Jamie Buhrer, Vic Mauro, George Rose, Terence Seuseu
Ins: Terence Seuseu
Outs: None

Broncos: Gerard Beale, Dale Copley, Jack Reed, Justin Hodges, Jharal Yow Yew, Darren Lockyer (c), Peter Wallace, Josh McGuire, Andrew McCullough, Ben Hannant, Alex Glenn, Sam Thaiday, Corey Parker. Interchange (from): Matt Gillett, Ben Hunt, Scott Anderson, Ben Te’o, David Hala.
Ins: Sam Thaiday
Outs: None
Matt Considers: So the biggest rugby league story of the year (probably just shaving the Battle of Brookvale at the moment) is about some bloke’s cheek…..how good a year it has been. Darren Lockyer was flown, via helicopter, into Sydney this afternoon as his cheek wasn’t able to cope with the air-pressure of a plane. There are varying opinions on whether he will or won’t play, and I’m going to make my mind up at around 6:45 on Friday night. If he doesn’t play, Matt Gillett will move to five-eighth, where he played plenty of footy previously, and would slip just outside Sam Thaiday in the defensive line, so not many disruptions in that sense, while Peter Wallace’s form could be enough in the play making stakes. Speaking of Thaiday, his suspension from this team’s last meeting is now finished, and he makes his return in the back-row, with Ben Te’o back to the bench. Oh, and in case you didn’t know, there is another team on Friday night. Manly have only added Terrance Seu Seu to the side, while Tony Williams starts in the back row, and Vic Mauro drops back to the bench. Anyway, BIG game, and the team news will be the talk of the town until kick-off, and maybe even beyond.
Melbourne Storm v New Zealand Warriors at AAMI Park, 7:45pm.

Storm: Billy Slater, Matt Duffie, Dane Nielsen, Beau Champion, Anthony Quinn, Gareth Widdop, Cooper Cronk, Jesse Bromwich, Cameron Smith (c), Bryan Norrie, Kevin Proctor, Sika Manu, Todd Lowrie. Interchange (from): Ryan Hinchcliffe, Rory Kostjaysen, Adam Woolnough, Jaiman Lowe, Troy Thompson, Sisa Waqa, Maurice Blair, Atelea Vea.
Ins: Rory Kostjasyn, Troy Thompson, Sisa Waqa, Maurice Blair
Outs: None

Warriors: Kevin Locke, Bill Tupou, Lewis Brown, Krisnan Inu, Manu Vatuvei, James Maloney, Shaun Johnson, Sam Rapira, Aaron Heremaia, Jacob Lillyman, Feleti Mateo, Simon Mannering (c), Micheal Luck. Interchange (from): Lance Hohaia, Russell Packer, Ben Matulino, Elijah Taylor, Steve Rapira
Ins: Elijah Taylor, Steve Rapira
Outs: Ukuma Ta’ai (NSW Cup)

Adrian Considers: The Storm have had a week off, and are playing it safe in their preliminary final, naming an eight-man MEGABENCH (technically, it’s a MEGABENCH +1, but we coined this term, so I guess it’s flexible.) 21 players – who will play?! Sisa Waqa, Maurice Blair and Atelea Vea are all part of the extended bench, while Rory Kostjasyn returns after being a late withdrawal in the qualifying final. Blair is a 50% chance of playing, and could sneak into the centres. The Warriors welcome back Elijah Taylor, dropping Ukuma Ta’ai. Steve Rapira is also added as 18th man.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: