Home > Cricket News, News > Australia name World Cup squad

Australia name World Cup squad

Australian selectors have named their final 15 man squad for the World Cup on the sub-continent. Injured skipper Ricky Ponting returns, with Xavier Doherty and Peter Siddle left out from the squad which overcame England at the MCG.

The major shock in selections was the inclusion of Victorian bowling all-rounder John Hastings. Hastings beat out fellow Victorian quicks Siddle and Clint McKay for the final bowling spot, joining Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Tait and Brett Lee in the squad. The remainder of the bowling group includes Nathan Hauritz, who beat out Doherty for the spinner’s spot, and all-rounder Steve Smith.

The entire squad is as follows: Ricky Ponting (captain), Michael Clarke (vice-captain), Doug Bollinger, Brad Haddin, John Hastings, Nathan Hauritz, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Tim Paine, Steve Smith, Shaun Tait, Shane Watson, Cameron White.

What do you think of the side? Who would you have picked? Do you think this is the squad that will win us the World Cup? Let your thoughts be known in the comments below, or email us at whosplayingwho@gmail.com

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: